Go back

CECA Visiting Artist Speaker Series


Throughout the history of the Department of Art + Design, we have been committed to bringing top artists, designers, curators, and thinkers to Austin Peay State University and the Clarksville community. Along with the support of the Center of Excellence for the Creative Arts, all of our events within the Department of Art + Design are free and open to the public.

CECA 17-18 Visiting Artist Schedule

September 7, 2017: Terri Witek, poet / Matt Roberts, new media artist / Dream Garden. Interactive poetry reading from Terry Witek, 5:00 p.m.; Artist’s Talk by Matt Roberts, 6:00 p.m.; Dream Garden unveiling, 7:00 p.m.

September 20, 2017: Nato Thompson, director of Creative Time, author of Culture as Weapon: The Art of Influence in Everyday Life, 6:00 p.m.

October 4, 2017: Caledonia Curry (aka Swoon), street artist, community engagement artist, 6:00 p.m.

November 9, 2017: Hillerbrand + Magsamen, interdisciplinary and photographic collaborators, 6:00 p.m.

January 29, 2018: Megan Geckler, architectural installation artist, 6:00 p.m., AD120.
      Site-Specific installation, January 29 – February 2, Art + Design atrium. 

February 7, 2018: Tad Carpenter, designer, illustrator, author, 6:00 p.m., AD120.

*Febraury 13, 2018: Amos Kennedy, student printmaking workshop

*March 13, 2018: Dario Robleto, installation artist, materials, 6:00 p.m., AD120.

April 5, 2018: Amy Sherald, painter, winner of Smithsonian’s National Portrait Gallery, Outwin Boochever Portrait Competition 6:00 p.m., AD120.

*April 10, 2018: Joyce Scott, McArthur Fellow, sculptor, jewelry maker, 6:00 p.m., AD120


* new additions

Be sure to follow us for upcoming announcements and special programming. 

Art+Design FB link Art+Design Instagram link Art+Design Twitter link


Below is just a selection of nationally and internationally renowned artists that the Department of Art + Design has hosted at APSU.




Duane Michals
John Pfahl
Anna Tomczak
Peter Laytin
Holly Roberts
Don Anderson
Christopher James
Sandy Skogland
Lorna Simpson
Clark Thomas
William Daley
Keith Carter
Dan Burkholder
Pedro Meyer
Joel Peter Witkin
Jack Spencer
Sean Kernan
Lalla Essaydi
Hillerbrand+Magsamen - 2017

Printmaking/Book Arts

John Mominee
John Wood
Sue Coe
Eric Avery
Jim Sherraden
Joyce Sievers
Susan King
Katherine Ng
Amos Kennedy
Franco Mondini-Ruiz
Johanna Drucker
Joan Lyons
Ke Francis
Jo Dery
Swoon - 2017

Art History/Art Criticism

Anselmo Carini
Dr. Ann Brown
Terry Barrett
Dr. Linda Stone-Ferrier
Susan Knowles
Ofelia Garcia
Merikay Waldvogel
Dele Jegede
Lawrence Weschler
Dinty Moore / “Brevity Magazine” 
Dr. Lisa Freiman




Marcel Fruh
Richard Painter
Dale Leys
Paul Rotterdam
William Bailey
Marilyn Murphy
April Gornick
Barbara Bullock
Carol Mode
Jack Beal
Jerome Witkin
Burrell Brenneman
Gina Priest
Erling Sjovold
Juan Martinez
Jimmie Cantrell
Beverly McIvers

Xu Bing

Duane Keiser


Paul Richter
Fred Cogelow
Les Miley
Carol Ann Haggard
Linda Behar
Priscilla Hollingsworth
Robert Brady
Vince Pitelka
Jo Stealy
Paul Soldner
John McQueen
Linda Lopez
Laura Splan
Sonya Clark - 2016

Graphic Design/Illustration

Dweck and Campbell
Gary Panter
Ann Field
Clive Piercy
Somi and Sojin Kim
Margot Chase
Simon Johnston
Susan Silton
Art Chantry
Andrea Dezso
Eric Drooker
Andy Engle
Vartan Kurjian
Scott McCloud
Chip Kidd
Brian Owens
Andrew Smith "ampersandrew"
Rachel Briggs




Ann Hamilton
Chris Robinson
Lida Gordon
Creighton Michael
Hubertus Von der Goltz
Claire Lieberman
Dorothy Gillespie
Andres Bally
Karim Noureldin
Robert Stackhouse
Margery Amdur
Kristy Dietz
Michael Spencer
Adrienne Outlaw
Greely Myatt
Mel Chin
Hirodazu Kosaka
John Medwedeff
Horatio Law
Michael Sarich
Willie Cole
Sheila Pepe
Jonathan Brilliant
PlantBot Genetics
Janine Antoni

New Media/Performance/Sound

Paul Rutkovsky
Heinrich Lueber
Deanna Morse
Robert Wilson
Cheri Gaulke / Sisters of Survival
Henry Selleck
Greg Pond
James Luna
Chris Doyle
JIllian McDonald
Paul D. Miller, aka DJ Spooky
Sondra Perry
Christine Sun Kim

Acuff Chairs

Ted Orland - 1990
Jim Nutt - 1994
Frances Whitehead - 1998
George McCauley - 2002
Linda Norlen - 2006
Ian Berry - 2010
Scott McCloud - 2014
Sonya Clark - 2018