Graduate Academic Council
Go back

Graduate Academic Council

The Graduate Academic Council is the principal body for the establishment of policies and procedures relating to the administration of graduate programs. The purpose of the Graduate Academic Council is to provide for effective participation and deliberation by those concerned with graduate programs.

The Graduate Academic Council (GAC) receives and deliberates additions and amendments to graduate courses and curricula as well as policies/regulations/guidelines impacting graduate programs, and makes recommendations to University Academic Council and/or other University officials. GAC may initiate studies that are concerned with the welfare of graduate programs.

GAC is chaired by the College of Graduate Studies Dean and is comprised of a single representative from each graduate degree program*, a representative from Faculty Senate, a representative from the Office of the Registrar, a representative from the Library, a representative from Financial Aid, two graduate student representatives selected by the GAC chair, and a representative from Office of Student Research & Innovation. Graduate degree program representatives are selected by department chairs. Only faculty representatives from graduate degree programs and the Library have voting privileges. *Should a department have multiple graduate degree programs then the number of representatives will be determined by the Dean of the degree program’s College and the Dean of the College of Graduate Studies.

2018-19 Graduate Academic Council Meetings

Date Time Location
Wednesday, September 19, 2018          3 - 4:30 p.m. MUC, Room 310
Wednesday, October 17, 2018 3 - 4:30 p.m. MUC, Room 310
Wednesday, November 14, 2018 3 - 4:30 p.m. MUC, Room 310
Wednesday, January 16, 2019 3 - 4:30 p.m. MUC, Room 310
Wednesday, February 20, 2019 3 - 4:30 p.m. MUC, Room 310
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 3 - 4:30 p.m. MUC, Room 310
Wednesday, April 17, 2019 3 - 4:30 p.m. MUC, Room 310


GAC Charge

Graduate Program Coordinators

Graduate Academic Council Members

Graduate Program Coordinators
Member Email Department
Dr. Tara Alvey alveyt@apsu.edu Teaching & Learning
Dr. Robert Baron baronr@apsu.edu Communication
Dr. Michelle Blake blakem@apsu.edu Social Work
Dr. Deborah Buchanan buchanand@apsu.edu Psychological Science & Counseling
Dr. John Byrd byrdjl@apsu.edu Engineering Technology
Dr. Joseph Elarde elardej@apsu.edu Comp. Science & Information Tech.
Dr. Amy Gillick gillicka@apsu.edu Music
Dr. Rebecca Johansen johansenr@apsu.edu Biology
Dr. Matt Jones jonesmatt@apsu.edu Mathematics & Statistics
Dr. Tim Leszczak leszczakt@apsu.edu Health and Human Performance
Dr. Jiang Li lij@apsu.edu Comp. Science & Information Tech.
Dr. Dan Meyer meyerd@apsu.edu Business
Dr. Barbara Peterson petersonb@apsu.edu Educational Specialties
Dr. Michelle Robertson robertsonm@apsu.edu Nursing
Dr. Adriane Sanders sandersam@apsu.edu Psychological Science & Counseling
Dr. Anthony Sanders sandersa@apsu.edu Education
Dr. Daniel Shea shead@apsu.edu Languages & Literature
Dr. Carlene Smith smithc@apsu.edu Mgmt., Marketing & General Business
Dr. Gary Stewart stewartg@apsu.edu Educational Specialties
Dr. Kevin Tanner tannerk@apsu.edu History & Philosophy                            
Dr. Jackie Vogel vogelj@apsu.edu Mathematics & Statistics
Dr. Anne Wall walla@apsu.edu Educational Specialties
Dr. Kathryn Woods woodsk@apsu.edu Leadership & Organizational Admin.
 
College Deans
Dr. Prentice Chandler chandlerp@apsu.edu Martha Dickerson Ericksson Col. of Ed.
Dr. Rebecca Corvey* corveyr@apsu.edu College of Behavioral Health & Sci.
Dr. Mickey Hepner hepnerm@apsu.edu College of Business
Dr. Barry Jones* jonesb@apsu.edu College of Arts & Letters
Dr. Karen Meisch* meischk@apsu.edu College of Science, Tech., Eng. & Math.

*Interim

Department Chairs
Dr. Eric Branscome branscomee@apsu.edu Music
Dr. Benita Bruster brusterb@apsu.edu Teaching & Learning
Dr. John Byrd byrdjl@apsu.edu Engineering Technology
Dr. Rebecca Corvey corveyr@apsu.edu Nursing
Dr. Don Dailey daileyd@apsu.edu Biology
Dr. Mary Fran Davis* davism@apsu.edu Social Work
Dr. Moniqueka Gold goldm@apsu.edu Educational Specialties
Dr. David Guest guestd@apsu.edu Languages & Literature
Dr. Samuel Jator jators@apsu.edu Mathematics & Statistics
Dr. NIcole Knickmeyer knickmeyern@apsu.edu Psychological Sci. & Counseling
Dr. Kathy Lee Heuston leek@apsu.edu Communication
Dr. Marcy Maurer maurerm@apsu.edu Health & Human Performance
Dr. Vikkie McCarthy mccarthyv@apsu.edu Mgmt., Marketing & Gen. Business
Dr. Bruce Myers myersb@apsu.edu Comp. Science & Information Tech.
Dr. William Rayburn rayburnw@apsu.edu Leadership & Org. Leadership
Dr. Cameron Sutt suttc@apsu.edu History & Philosophy

*Interim

Affiliated Units
Mr. Brad Averitt
Admissions Recruiter
averittb@apsu.edu College of Graduate Studies
Dr. Beverly Boggs
Associate Provost
boggsb@apsu.edu Enrollment Management
Ms. Sara Brashears
Admissions Process
brashearss@apsu.edu Graduate Admissions
Dr. Chad Brooks
AP for Research & Interim Dean
brooksc@apsu.edu College of Graduate Studies
Ms. Caroline Clasby
Coordinator
clasbyc@apsu.edu International Student Services
Ms. Amy Corlew
Director
corlewa@apsu.edu Admissions
Dr. Lynne Crosby
VP & Associate Vice President
crosbyl@apsu.edu Academic Affairs
Mr. David Davenport
Chief Diversity Officer
davenportdl@apsu.edu Foy Fitness Center
Dr. Loretta Griffy
AP for Student Success
griffyl@apsu.edu Center for Teaching & Learning
Dr. Erin Lynch-Alexander
Director
lynche@apsu.edu Office of Student Res. & Innovation
Dr. Kristine Nakutis
Executive Director
nakutisk@apsu.edu Fort Campbell Center
Ms. Jasmine O'Brien
Curriculum Coordinator
obrienjr@apsu.edu Academic Affairs
Ms. Donna Price
Director
priced@apsu.edu Financial Aid & Veteran's Affairs
Dr. Denise Robledo
Director
robledod@apsu.edu Distance Education
Mr. Joe Weber
Director
weberj@apsu.edu Library Services
Ms. Catherine Winn
Associate Registrar
winnc@apsu.edu Office of the Registrar
Ms. Telaina Wrigley
Registrar
wrigleyt@apsu.edu Office of the Registrar