2016-2017 Awards and Recognition
Go back

Congratulations to the 2018 Forum presentation winners!

Poster Presentation Session 1:
Oral Presentation Session 1:
Poster Presentation Session 2:
Oral Presentation Session 2:
Poster Presentation Session 3:
Oral Presentation Session 3:

2016-2017 Presidential Research Scholars (PRS)


Jared Averitt (Department of Biology, Mentor: Dr. Sergei Markov)
Photobioreactor for efficient utilization of glycerol into H2 by photosynthetic bacteria

Jack Dingus (Department of Geosciences, Mentor: Dr. Kallina Dunkle)
Stream Contamination in the cities of Millersville and Goodlettsville, Tennessee

Jacob Fletcher (Department of Chemistry, Mentor: Dr. Carrie Brennan)
Alternate Pathways to Improve the Synthesis of Aluminum Phosphate based Sol-Gel Glasses

Deborah Gulledge (Department of Physics and Astronomy, Mentor: Dr. J. Allyn Smith)
Automation of Data Reduction and Analysis for Astronomy

Ryan Honea (Department of Mathematics and Statistics, Mentor: Dr. Matt Jones)
Percolation of Random Geometric Graphs on Mat ́ern II Point Processes

Laura Nichols (Department of Physics and Astronomy, Mentor: Dr. Roman Holovchak)
Comparative structural studies of GeSe/GeTe-based phase-change memory

Thomas Murphy (Department of Languages and Literature, Mentor: Dr. Karen Sorenson)
A French Retelling of the Oedipus Myth: A Translation and Critical Study of Voltaire's "Oedipe"

Matthew Pierson (Department of Biology, Mentor: Dr. Chris Gienger)
Metabolic Response to Predation Risk in Agkistrodon contortrix

John Shelton (Departments of Biology, Mentor: Dr. L. Dwayne Estes)
Complete Flora and Floristic Quality Assessment of Cedar Hill Wildlife Management Area

Sara Straussberger (Department of Art and Design, Mentor: Michael Dickins)
Examining Austin Peay State University's Permanent Art Collection: Rediscovering the Jim and Nan Robertson Photography Collection

Congratulations to the 2016 Forum presentation winners!

Completed Research:
In-progress Research:
Oral Presentation:

Congratulations to 2016 Academic Honors and Awards and Student Organization and Leader Awards winners!

Laura Sanders (Biology, PRS 2015-16)

William McClure Drane Award
Outstanding Biology Senior

Herbert Barron (Geosciences, SURF 2015)

William Stewart Outstanding Senior Award

Elizabeth Upshur (Languages and Literature, SURF 2015)

Who's Who Among Students in American Universities

Dominic Critchlow (Physics and Astronomy, PRS 2015-16)

Robert F. Sears Award

Laura Nichols (Physics and Astronomy, PRS 2016-17)

Robert F. Sears Award

Elizabeth Juelfs (Physics and Astronomy, PRS 2014-15)

Robert F. Sears Award

Isaac Wilbur (Physics and Astronomy, PRS 2015-16)

Mayfield Outstanding Senior Award

Darlene White (Sociology, SURF 2015)

Who's Who Among Students in American Universities