Go back

 Political Science and Public Management Faculty

 

 Contact Info.

Education

Research Interests

   headshot

Marsha Lyle-Gonga, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Political Science

Phone: (931) 221-7583

Location: Clement 159

Email: lylegongam@apsu.edu

 

Ph.D. in Public Policy & Administration, Walden University

M.S. in Urban Administration, Trinity University

B.A.in Political Science, Our Lady of the Lake University

 

Women and Politics

Political Leadership    

Urban Politics            

Public Policy

dr. anna gregg

Anna Gregg, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Political Science

Phone: (931) 221-6389

Location: Clement 143G

Email: gregga@apsu.edu

 

Ph.D. in Political Science, Southern Illinois University at Carbondale

M.A. in Public Administration, Southern Illinois University

B.A. in Economics, St. Petersburg Agricultural State University

 

Institutions and Political  Economies of Post Communist States

Area Specialization in Russia and Post-Soviet States       

Taught at the Leningradski State Regional University from 1998-2001 while conducting field research there.      

International Relations

Dr. Gruszczynski

Michael Gruszczynski, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Political Science 

Phone: (931) 221-7581

Location: Clement 143F

Email: gruszczynskim@apsu.edu

 

M.A. & Ph.D. in Political Science, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

B.S. in Political Science, University of Nebraska at Kearney

 

Political Psychology

Political Communication

Research Methods

Persistence of Media Controversies in Presidential Elections

The Influence of Polarization on Congressional News Coverage

The Emotional Basis of Political Attitudes

Dr. Hunt

Katherine Hunt, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Political Science

Phone: (931) 221-6082

Location: Clement 143 B

Email: huntk@apsu.edu

 

Ph. D. in Political Science, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

M.A. in Political Science, Arizona State University

B.A. in Political Science, University of Minnesota, Morris

 

Social Movements

Comparative News Media

International Human Rights

Women and Gender in Comparative Perspective

Theories of Power

Dr. Kenney

Matthew Kenney, Ph.D., Chair

Professor of Political Science

Director of the Honors Program 

Phone: (931) 221-6398

Location: Clement 151

Email: kenneym@apsu.edu

 

Ph.D. in Political Science, Tulane University

M.A. in Latin American Studies, Tulane University

M.A. in Greek, Bryn Mawr College

B.A. in Philosophy, Northwestern University

 

 

Latin American Politics

Politics in Developing Countries

Social Justice and Political Theory

Liberation Theology

phillips

John Phillips, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Political Science

Phone: (931) 221-6894

Location: Clement 143E

Email: phillipsj@apsu.edu

 

 

M.A. & Ph.D. in Political Science, Brown University

B.A. in Political Economy and German, Williams College

Political Authority

Democratic Theory 

Global Justice 

Distributive Justice in Natural Resources         

Oil Politics            

Property Rights         

Civic Education

Dr. Harold Young

Harold Young, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Political Science

Phone: (931) 221-7059

Location: Clement 143 A

Email: youngh@apsu.edu

 

Ph.D. in Political Science, Georgia State University

J.D./LL.b Norman Manley Law School in Kingston, Jamaica

M.S. School of Business and Management, National Louis University

B.A. in Political Philosophy, University of Dallas

 

Judicial Politics

Comparative Courts

Judicial Decision Making

Death Penalty

Responsibility to Protect

 

Contact Info.
Education
Research Interests

 

 

 

Najmul Abedin, Ph.D.

Professor of Public Management

Phone: (931) 221-1466

Location: FCC 215

Email: abedinn@apsu.edu

   
 Dr. Ogbonna-McGruder  

Chinyere Ogbonna-McGruder, Ph.D.

Professor of Public Management

Phone: (931) 221-7763

Location: Clement 114

Email: ogbonnac@apsu.edu

   
 Dr. Prescott  

James Prescott, Ph.D.

Professor of Public Management

Phone: (931) 221-1469

Location:FCC 213

Email: prescottj@apsu.edu

   
 Dr. Starnes  

Becky Starnes, Ph.D.

Professor of Public Management

Phone: (931) 221-1027

Location: Clement 112

Email: starnesb@apsu.edu

   
   

Mohammed Waheeduzzaman, Ph.D.

Professor of Public Management

Phone: (931) 221-1449

Location: FCC 212

Email: zamanw@apsu.edu

   

 

 

Emeritus Faculty

David Kanervo, Ph.D. 
 

Adjunct Faculty

Marcelius Braxton (Political Science)                                                                    
Courses Taught: Intro to Public Policy, American National Government                                        
Email: braxtonm@apsu.edu

Charles Butts (Public Management)

Courses Taught: Organizational Theory & Behavior

Email: buttsc@apsu.edu 

Carmen Grissom (Public Management)

Courses Taught: Organizational Theory & Behavior, Weapons of Mass Destruction,

Email: grissomc@apsu.edu

Brandi L. Jones (Political Science) 
Courses Taught: Civil Trial and Appellate Practice, and Juvenile Law
Email: jonesbl@apsu.edu                                       
Deanna Kasitz  (Political Science)                                                                           
Courses Taught: American National Government, Intro to Public Policy              
Email: kasitzd@apsu.edu

Michael Kasitz (Public Management)

Courses Taught: Continuity of Organization Operations

Email: kasitzm@apsu.edu

Jessica Miller (Political Science) 

Courses Taught: Introduction to Public Policy, Health Care Policy in the United States, and American National Government
Email: millerj@apsu.edu
Julia North, J.D. (Political Science) 
Courses Taught: American Constitutional Law I & II, Family Law, Women and the Law, Torts, Intro to Law, Legal Research, Legal Writing 
Email: northj@apsu.edu
Paula Turner (Political Science) 
Courses Taught: American National Government, International Politics, Terrorism & Counter Terrorism, U.S. Defense Policy, and Power, Morality, & International Relations
Email: turnerp@apsu.edu
Shelia Williams (Political Science)                                                                         
Courses Taught: Intro to Legal Assistance & Ethics, Legal Research, LegalWriting                                                                                          
Email: williamss@apsu.edu