Austin Peay State University Faculty Senate Meeting of Thursday, May 2, 2024 Morgan University Center, Room 307 | 3 pm Minutes

Call to Order: Senate President Soma Banerjee

Recognition of Guests: Perry Scanlan, Jane Semler, Devonna Stone, Jacob Knight

Roll Call of Senators: Senate Secretary pro tem Brandon Di Paolo Harrison

Absent Senators: Andrew Kostakis, Sam Ligo, Alice Lin, Justin Oelgaetz, Jennifer Thompson, and Heather Tillewein

Approval of Today's Agenda: a motion was made, seconded, and past with majority vote

Approval of Minutes from April 25, 2024 Meeting: a amendment was made to add "\$140,000 in funding requests were received", seconded, and past with majority vote

Remarks:

- 1. Senate President Dr. Soma Banerjee (5 minutes)
- 2. APSU Student Trustee to the Board and THEC Student Commissioner, Jacob Knight (15 minutes): Jacob discussed his experience in these roles.

New Business

- 1. Faculty Red Committee, update. (10 minutes): Brandon Di Paolo Harrison presented the results and recommendations of the faculty compression and inversion analysis.
- 2. Outgoing Executive Committee Members. (20 minutes): The members each spoke for a few minutes about their individual experience service on the executive committee.
- 3. Presentation of Awards to 2023-2024 Executive Committee Members. (10 minutes) Soma Banerjee presented the awards to the members of the executive committee.
- 4. Election of 2024-2025 Executive Committee Members. (Action Item): Perry Scanlan informed faculty senators the process of conducting the election. A motion was made and duly seconded to elect the executive committee members running unopposed by acclimation. This passed with majority vote. Dr. Scanlan then moved to Provost Council Representative. John Blake had to leave to head to the Ft. Campbell campus and asked Jane Semler to read his remarks on his behalf, which she did read. Michelle Robertson then spoke to senate expressing her interest in serving in this capacity and her experience. The nominations committee passed out ballots for this position by roll call. The committee members collected the ballots and reported the following results: John Blake received 6 votes and Michelle Robertson received 24 votes. Michelle Robertson is the Provost Council Representative.

Next the candidates for the position of secretary were given the opportunity to speak. Florian Gargaillo spoke about his experience, Chesley Thigpen spoke about his experience. The

nominations committee passed out ballots for this position. The committee members collected the ballots and reported the following results: Florian Gargaillo received 15 votes and Chesley Thigpen received 15 votes. Since there is a tie, President Di Paolo Harrison had to break the tie. Chesley Thigpen is the next Faculty Senate Secretary.

The 2024-2025 Faculty Senate Executive Committee is:

President: Osvaldo Di Paolo Harrison

Vice President/President Elect: Brandon Di Paolo Harrison

Secretary: Chesley Thigpen Treasurer: John Nicholson

Provost Council Representative: Michelle Robertson

University Curriculum Committee Representative: Tyler Nolting

Member-at-Large: Bobette Bouton

5. Passing the "gavel"

Adjourn: a motion was made and seconded