Go back

Omicron Delta Kappa

National Leadership Honor Society

The purpose of The Omicron Delta Kappa Society is threefold:

, to recognize those who have attained a high standard of efficiency in collegiate activities and to inspire others to strive for conspicuous attainments along similar lines;

Second, to bring together the most representative students in all phases of collegiate life and thus to create an organization which will help to mold the sentiment of the institution on questions of local and intercollegiate interest;

Third, to bring together members of the faculty and student body of the institution, as well as other Omicron Delta Kappa members, on a basis of mutual interest, understanding and helpfulness.



In 1976 Austin Peay State University President Robert O. Riggs appointed a committee to found an honorary society recognizing leadership and contributions to campus life.  Mildred Deason, director of student life, faculty member Malcolm Glass; and Bonita Wilson, an undergraduate student, began working to establish a local fraternity honoring campus leaders: this organization was called  “The Governors Association”. The membership of the committee was expanded to include faculty members Diana Brent and Billy Thompson, who volunteered their help.  Using rigorous standards of selection, the committee chose seventeen juniors and seniors to be charter members, and be the spring of 1977 the Governors Leadership Society was well established.


From the beginning, the group was aware of the importance of establishing meaningful traditions and ceremonies and of upholding the highest standards.  In October of 1978, the Society petitioned Omicron Delta Kappa, national leadership honor society, asking that the Austin Peay group be considered as a prospective circle.  Early in 1979 ODK decided in favor of the petition and on May 4, 1979 the Austin Peay State University Circle of Omicron Delta Kappa was installed by national and regional officers and officials. Under the able guidance of the faculty/staff secretary and the leadership of many capable students, officers and members, the Circle has grown and flourished.  Traditions and service have become increasingly important as the Circle has grown, and these traditions and the standards they represent have clearly established ODK as one of the most prestigious honorary societies at the university. Today, over 1,500 students, faculty, staff, and community members have been initiated through the Austin Peay State University Circle. Additionally, our Circle has been recognized numerous times with the “Circle of Distinction Award”; one of the highest honors bestowed upon a collegiate Circle by the National Administrative Office, and we have also been named a recipient of the Presidential Award of Excellence a number of times, presented to the top circles nationally within Omicron Delta Kappa.

Identify, honor and develop leaders in collegiate and community life. Encourage collaboration among students, faculty, staff and alumni to advance leadership. Promote and publicize our ideals.

As the most respected and effective leadership honor society, Omicron Delta Kappa strives for excellence in leadership and character development.

  • Scholarship
  • Service
  • Integrity
  • Collaboration
  • Inclusivity
  • Academics and Research
  • Athletics
  • Service to Campus and Community
  • Communications
  • Creative and Performing Arts

Omicron Delta Kappa recognizes and encourages achievement in scholarship; athletics; campus or community service; social and religious activities; campus government; journalism; speech; mass media; and the creative and performing arts.

To be eligible for membership, a student shall meet the following minimum requirements:

  • One semester (at least 12 graded credit hours earned) of residence at Austin Peay State University
  • Undergraduate sophmore,  junior or senior standing (at least 30 graded credit hours earned) or graduate standing (with at least one semester completed at Austin Peay State University
  • A candiate for undergraduate membership must rank in the top 35% of their respective class. The cumulative scholarship record of the student shall be the basis for computing scholarship eligibility. Graduate Students must have a 3.50 cumulative GPA in order to be considered for membership. 
  • Exemplary character, scholarship, service, leadership in campus life, good citizenship within the academic and larger community, and fellowship and consecration to democratic ideals
Applications for fall 2021 will be available in September 2021! If selected for membership, the initation fee of $110 must be paid upon selection AND you must attend the "in person" initiation ceremony in the fall semester.  

Application Process

Omicron Delta Kappa Membership

Spring 2021 Induction

Congratulations to the Spring 2021 Inductees: 


Dr. Kathrine A. Bailey

Rebecca Joy Becker

Gregory Scott Blackburn

Alanna Mae Bonnell

Dr. Bobette D. Bouton

Danielle Marie Bowman

Daniel R. Brisby

Camryn Grace Brown

Sierah Campbell

Keli Morgan Chambers

Amy E. Corlew

Isabella A. Crespo

Megan J. W. Cruce

Mary Catherine Denmark

Alura D. Endres

Dr. Amanda Estep

Benjamin P. Ferrell

D. Lynn Fisher

Kathleen Shea Gibson

Tyler Gilbert

Jonathan Glasgow

Jordan Scott Harmon

Kaylee Alexis Heflin

Erin Hilderbrandt

Molly Howard

Dr. McCartney Johnson

Michael J. Kasitz

Alexander L. Kress

Kristine Lee

Myah Victoria LeFlore

V. Jasmin Linares  

Nya Marie Long

Miranda Lee Lowell

Ali Michelle Massengill

Christian D. McCall

Kimberley G. Morrow

Etenia Dawn-Sari Mullins

Nicholas James Murphy

Dr. Tracy Nichols

Dr. Lorneth D. Peters

Ana Carolina Pla Rosario

Deandrew Will Rainey

Elliot N. Reed

Jawaun A. Rogers

Adriel E. Ruiz-Rodriguez

Dr. Perry Michael Scanlan

Jane R. Semler

Kara Ann Short

Maria Alexandra Sayuri Southers

Christopher Ryan Stout

Anna Noelle Thompson

Nathan D. Toothman 

Pieter A. Vernon

Ella Weiss

Christian Taylor West