Go back

 

Major Field Test

Most departments require graduating seniors to take an exam that covers topics specific to their major. Known as a Major Field Test, the exam is different from the Senior Exit Exam, which focuses on general education.

Seniors preparing to graduate with a Bachelor's degree from any of the majors listed below should contact the department representative listed to schedule testing. Students graduating from majors not listed below should contact their academic advisor to see if an exit exam is required. Seniors graduating from Allied Health, Education and Nursing programs are required to take licensure tests given in lieu of a Major Field Test.

All requests for exemptions must be directed to the department representative. Exemptions given for the Senior Exit Exam do not apply to the Major Field Test requirement. To see a list of all graduation requirements, please visit the Office of the Registrar's website.

 Contacts

Major Contact Person Email Address
Accounting Margaret Douglas douglasm@apsu.edu
Agriculture Dr. Don Sudbrink sudbrinkd@apsu.edu
Biology Dr. Cindy Taylor taylorc@apsu.edu
Chemistry Donna Liverett liverettd@apsu.edu
Communication Arts Dr. Robert Baron baronr@apsu.edu
Computer Information Systems Betty Leimer leimerb@apsu.edu
Computer Information Technology Betty Leimer leimerb@apsu.edu
Computer Science  Betty Leimer leimerb@apsu.edu
Criminal Justice Melissa Boyer boyerm@apsu.edu
Engineering Technology Jamie Gaither gaitherj@apsu.edu
English Jessica D'Alimonte dalimontej@apsu.edu
Finance Margaret Douglas douglasm@apsu.edu
Geosciences Dr. Jack Deibert deibertj@apsu.edu
Health & Human Performance Kim Coats coatsk@apsu.edu
History Mary Biggers biggersm@apsu.edu
Management Margaret Douglas douglasm@apsu.edu
Marketing Margaret Douglas douglasm@apsu.edu
Mathematics Dr. David Menser menserd@apsu.edu
Physics Sherry Bagwell bagwells@apsu.edu
Political Science Sage Disney disneye@apsu.edu
Psychological Science Dr. Nicole Knickmeyer knickmeyern@apsu.edu
Public Management Melissa Boyer boyerm@apsu.edu
Social Work Donna Conklin conklind@apsu.edu 
Sociology Linda Campos  camposl@apsu.edu

 

All Major Field Test results are reported back to each department. Graduates requesting their scores should contact the department that administered the exam.